Monday, April 23, 2012

The Second Day of London My first full day of London was bloody brilliant (channeling my inner English- obviously). It started off with mom and I getting tea at Starbucks before heading out for another leisurely stroll in Hyde Park. We saw the Albert Statue Memorial and the beautiful sites of the GORGEOUS park.
Mom had to fly back to the states that day, so I was officially on my own starting around 10 am. I went on a 26 minute run through Hyde Park, which was undoubtedly strained (as it turned out, I pulled my psoas muscle- but more on that later). I came back to my hotel room, showered, and ate some chicken masala with rice before setting out to paint the town red (and blue and white- ha.). Mom had purchased me a ticket on the Big Bus tour, which stops at all the major stops in London. I decided to take the tube to the St. James Park stop so I could see Buckingham Palace. Let me just say, holy moles. I have seen Buckingham Palace before, but wow. It is so pretty!! And I couldn’t help but meticulously study the balcony where William and Kate stood and had “the kiss.”
After wandering aimlessly for a good twenty minutes, I finally found the first stop on the Big Bus tour. I took the bus to Trafalgar Square, where I got off for a bit, went to the bathroom, and returned to the bus. I then rode the bus until the Westminster Pier when I disembarked in pursuit of riding the London Eye. As it turns out, the London Eye is 18 pounds. Yikes. But fear not, I still ended up riding it- just not today ☺. Instead of going on the London Eye, I walked along the Thames River, listened to a great cover band, saw a creepy Easter bunny and Mickey Mouse, and decided to board the free river cruise.
Creepy, right?! The commentators on the cruise were GREAT! They were hilarious and informative. I got off at the Tower of London port and boarded the bus again.
Let me just say I have spectacular timing. While aboard the bus, we passed Westminster Abbey WHERE THE QUEEN WAS!!!! I immediately got off in hopes of snagging a picture, which I totally did!
At this point, it was around 5 pm, so I figured I should head back to the hotel. After relaxing for an hour, I went to Waitrose (only my favorite grocery store in the world) and got a ham and cheese sandwich for dinner. I went back to my room to relax and ended up going to bed at around 9 pm. I was a sleepy girl! My first full day in London was beyond perfect. I was nervous because I was going to be in a foreign city all-alone, and I had to fend for myself. However, not once did I feel uncomfortable in any way. London feels like home, which I know sounds SUPER cheesy, but it’s true! I can absolutely see myself living there one day- SOON!!
SUPER obsessed with this city!!

Thursday, March 29, 2012

The First Day in London

Originally, I decided to forgo travelling with Molly and Kathy, but after I couldn’t even find the train, I decided to stick with them. So much for being independent… On the train, I learned more about Molly, a fifth year broadcast-journalism major at UGA, and Kathy, an energetic, sweet, antique dealer. We also learned more about London’s transportation system from the train conductor, Conrad. I caught glimpses of the London suburbs, which reminded me a lot of Privet Drive (just wait. More Harry Potter references to come!) We finally got to Victoria Station, took in the London sights and smells, and boarded the Circle Line to Gloucester Road. Kathy and Molly walked me to my hotel, and then I was officially on my own! I checked my bags at the front desk and freshened up in the bathroom before heading out on my own. It wasn’t long before I saw Molly and Kathy again! We decided to walk around while also searching for a place to eat breakfast. After about an hour and a half of walking, we finally found a cute, little bakery that had amazing looking pastries. I ordered a hot chocolate, while Molly and Kathy both ordered pastries. We ended up talking for about two hours before heading back to our respective hotels. It wasn’t long sitting in the hotel before I fell asleep in the lobby after being awake for over 30 hours straight! An hour and a half of sleeping, my mom woke me up, so we could finally go up to the hotel room. I ended up sleeping for another two and a half hours. (Oops….sorry mom ☺) After I woke up, I took a shower, changed, and mom and I went out to explore! We went to Starbucks, where I got an English breakfast tea, and got to check Facebook.
Then we walked down the main road to where it ended in Hyde Park. Mom told me she had a surprise for me in Hyde Park. We came to the top of a hill, and low and behold, I was staring right at Kensington Palace!!! (aka Kate Middleton’s house!)
After a good fifteen minutes of near hyperventilating, we walked along the front of the house. Then we strolled through the shopping area of Kensington before heading back to the area by the hotel. In true English form, we ate at Fuller’s and got fish and chips.
To complete our English meal, we went to Tesco to buy Cadbury, then headed back to the room. My first day in England was beyond words amazing. I didn’t even realize the wonderfulness to come!!!

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

London Calling

And I answered.. :)
I have full confidence in saying that one of the best feelings in the world is waking up on the first day of a break. Suddenly, everything is a little brighter and all life’s troubles don’t seem quite as bad. I am also fully confident in saying that waking up knowing that you’re going to London that day is by far one of the best feelings ever. I woke up Saturday morning with a noticeable glow. For more than eight months, I had yearned daily to go to London and here was my chance. I was going with my mom on my spring break. I spent most of the morning packing, determining which articles of clothing were both functional and adorable. At around 2, my mom, Lisa, and I left for the airport. We got to our gate E7 about an hour and a half before the flight. After anxiously awaiting hearing my name on the intercom, I finally heard my name called, walked up to the counter, and got my seat assignment. I was placed in 9C!!!

We're going to London!!

Not only was I actually going to London, I was placed in business class for the flight over. The business class of this plane had the seats that you can lay down in. Finally, after many hugs and kisses from my mom (she was working the next flight to Heathrow- I was flying into Gatwick), I boarded the plane to begin my London adventure! I thoroughly enjoyed looking at the people’s faces as they passed through business into coach. (Sorry- pretentious: party of one) At around 5:30, we lifted off the ground and were on our way to England. I immediately tried out the laying down feature on my seat, and let me just say it is AWESOME! During the 8 hour flight, I watched Footloose, read, tried to sleep (HA! Good one. I was wayyy too excited), and ATE. They gave us so much food to eat, and most of it was delicious. Whoever thought the cream of vegetable soup was edible needs some reevaluating. After what seemed like an eternity, we landed in England. I was talking to Sue (the nicest British flight attendant ever!) and the lady in front of me overheard that I went to UGA. Her daughter is a fifth year senior at UGA. They, as I later found out, were staying at a hotel near my hotel, the NH Harrington Hall in Kensington. We decided to meet up off the plane to travel to Kensington together. To be continued…

Monday, January 16, 2012

Motivation?

Last week was a bit of a struggle in terms of running because I was not only EXTREMELY busy with the first week of school, but I also was not feeling well. Andd... not to mention the fact that I was just plain lazy. I only ran three days, but that isn't terrible considering everything! Since today is MLK day, I had no class and am thus sitting at my computer at home! I've willed myself to run three miles today, but I think the hardest step for me is going to be the one out the door. I'm having serious motivation issues!!! Therefore, I have decided to write down everything that motivates me when I'm running in the hopes of gaining some actual motivation! Here it goes:
1. A hot bod- I want a six pack! 'Nuff said
2. My mom- My mom is the poster child for fitness. She can run an uncountable number of miles! She's a super star!
3. Disney- This is one of my most effective ways to take my mind off running. I imagine going through the parks and riding my favorite rides {particularly Splash Mountain because its a 9 minute long ride!} I'm also training to run the Tower of Terror 10-Miler in September!!! I hope I stay committed until then :)
4. Stress- Running clears your mind like no other
5. Confidence- I immediately feel better, even after the shortest of runs
6. To prove that I can- It still astounds me that I can run more than three steps!

There are a million other things that motivate me when I run, but these are just my top six. I guess I've got some running to do now... :)

It's a beautiful day!
-Jessie

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Thursday Sleepiness


Today was my last 8 AM for the week!!! I am so excited to sleep in tomorrow because my first {and ONLY!!} class is at 12:20. I'm still feeling sick, but I'm going to the doctor this weekend when I get home so I can finally get some medicine to make me feel better. Three day weekend, here I come! :)

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

In Sickness and In Health

My new found relationship with running has been put on hold because of a cold/ potentially strep throat. However, like any good relationship, I refuse to give up and will thus be forcing myself out the door in about an hour {after UP is finished, of course!} Maybe working out will help me feel better!! {Wishful thinking, I know} On September 29th, I'm hoping to run the Tower of Terror 10-Miler. Um.. Hello. Can you say awesome?! Until then, I've got some running to do! :)
I hope to look like her some day!

Friday, January 6, 2012

HELLLLOOOOOO HUMANS!

{Insert crazy ,18-year old, Buddy Boyle obsessed girl frantically waving her hands up in the air}
I've been rejecting my blog for far too long now. Updates are a must!
- I was just accepted to the UGA Honors Program! All my hard work from first semester has payed off, and I am free to enroll in Honors-level courses. I'm so excited!
- With the new year comes new resolutions and goals, so here's a peek into mine:
-RUN. I want to be a super fast, awesome runner, and I figure the only way that's going to happen is by me running. A lot. I've already done three workouts this week. Let's hope I keep it up! :)
- Make AMAZING grades. 4.0 babyy
- Make a ton of new friends. Life is better when you have someone to share it with!
- Love! Friends, family, a boy....??? ha. I wish
- Be happy!! 2011 is in the past, and I'm SO excited 2012 is here!
- Become a better friend/ sister/ daughter/ whatever I am to anyone else.
- Figure out what I want to do with my life and then go do it! As for right now, I really want to be a neonatologist. It involves kids and miracles. Exactly what I want to do!

That's my list as of lately. I'm sure I will add to it in the near future.

Christmas was AWESOME!! {as always..} I didn't get too much, but I am now the proud owner of a brand new iPhone! I LOVE it! I can't believe how amazing it is!

Christmas break has gone by WAYYY too quickly. It seems like just yesterday I was picking up Natasha from the airport to surprise Lisa :) It's been nice to catch up with all my high school and crew friends. It was like no time had passed.

I am excited to get back to Athens and to get on with a new semester. Being lazy has been nice, but I need to start working again.

I'll leave you with a nice Disney picture. That's the only thing on my mind these days! {Then again, when is it not?!}